3½ Try-Out of a Healthy Diet

Allow me to explain briefly why I decided to change my diet for a few days. I could go way longer back in time, but let’s not make this too long. Two weeks ago I started to notice – be warned, this might sound crazy – that I didn’t really enjoyed my usual warm shower anymore. It gets even crazier, because the reason for that, is that it felt bad in my belly region with a warm shower. Taking a cold shower solved that. However, since then I’ve also heard some positive things about a diet based on non-processed foods. I heard it in the past, but it was now that it sucked me in. Why? I was paying better attention to how I was feeling in my belly region… not too well. I had heard someone’s personal experience with a healthy diet and one of the benefits was feeling healthier. Just what I needed. I wanted this annoying feeling in my belly region gone. It wasn’t a stomach-ache, though; just a nagging feeling. I wanted to get rid of it.

I already knew what my new diet would have to be all about: vegetables, fruit and rice. Of course, eggs, meat, fish, chicken and nuts were welcome too. But all processed foods were a no-no. The hardest thing about this diet was not the fact that I would have to say goodbye to potatoes, bread, muesli, pasta, sauces and all kinds of treats. Neither was the problem that I would have to drink water. In fact, I already drank water most of the time. The real problem? Rice. I don’t consider myself a fan of rice. Or well, I didn’t. I got boring of rice the instant I ate it, but with the experience I’ve got now, I think I might very soon change my diet for the long run. It would mean eating rice each and every day. I wouldn’t mind at all.

Day 1
Enough of an intro, I suppose. Let’s talk about the first day. My first meal contained about 100 grams of white rice, 2 pickles, a slice of yorkham, an egg and roughly 10 pickled mini-onions. I didn’t have fresh vegetables, so I reckoned it was at least something. There weren’t any improvements until the evening, but I wasn’t expecting any so soon anyway. I had heard it would take about 24 hours since your last ingestion of unhealthy food. So the evening came and there it was: another dish with rice. However, this time it was brown rice, half a broccoli (cooked for 3 to 5 minutes) and about 100 grams of chicken. I’m not sure how much rice it was exactly, but I’d say about 125 grams. I also ate a minneola.
That was about enough for the rest of the day… if only I wouldn’t have gotten hungry 2 hours before going to bed. I decided to eat an egg and another slice of yorkham. And indeed, about 24 hours since I had last eaten some crisps, I noticed I was feeling a bit better already. Which wasn’t a placebo-effect, though, because I wasn’t expecting to feel any improvement until the next morning. Believe it or not, I could feel it in my belly region. This new diet was doing it’s job. But when I wanted to go to sleep, I got a really bad feeling… I needed a visit to the toilet. It wasn’t a nice visit, but considering the unhealthy diet of the day before, I guessed my body needed to work the mess out of its system. Good riddance. That’s what you get for eating cake and crisps before going to bed the day before.

To sum it all up, here’s a list of what I consumed the 1st day:
-100 grams of white rice
-125 grams of brown rice
– 2 eggs (hard boiled)
– 2 slices of yorkham
– 10 pickled mini-onions
– 2 pickles
– 100 grams of chicken (spiced)
– ½ a broccoli
– 1 minneola
– 2½ liters of water

Day 2:
I started the next day with less than a quarter of a broccoli, a slice of yorkham, an egg and the leftovers from the day before, being less than 100 grams of brown rice and a bit of chicken. It was a nice meal:

(Pictures shows before and after adding chicken and rice leftovers)

I also ate a minneola in the afternoon. My dinner consisted of 125 grams of brown rice, 2 thirds of a broccoli and 100 grams of chicken. I ate minneola a couple of hours later. And for some reason my broccoli tasted wonderful today. I was loving it.
But today there was another surprise waiting for me. Whereas yesterday I was drinking a normal amount of water (about 2½ liters), this afternoon I somehow managed to suddenly be thirsty enough to down a little over half a liter. This happened to me 8 times on the same day, meaning that I had consumed over 4 liters of water at the end of the day. I didn’t have to pee more often than usual and overall I felt better than the day before.
I also went bicycling for 80 minutes. I challenged myself a bit and although my mind was exhausted the moment I arrived back at home, my body was telling me it wanted more excercise. About 15 minutes later I didn’t feel I needed a nap anymore.
I also went to the supermarket to see what healthy foods were available… very few. This realisation caused me to think the following, word for word:
“This place is full of f**king poison…”
Excuse me for the language, but this is exactly what my mind uttered. As I walked out, another thought came to me:
“No wonder so many people get ill.”
You will find what I bought and at what price later in this blog.

What I consumed on day 2:
– 225 grams of brown rice
– 150 grams of chicken
– 9/10 broccoli
– 1 egg
– 1 slice of yorkham
– 2 minneolas
– 4 liters of water

Day 3:
Day 3 of my rice diet started with a watery defecation. I felt good, though. I think my body simply hadn’t adjusted yet to eating more vegetables and fruit. I was motivated to keep going on. And thus I made myself a lovely breakfast: 100 grams of brown rice, 100 grams of pork, 1 egg, ¼ broccol and freshly made water-based guacamole (water, black pepper, salt and avocado):

I also ate a closed hand full of mixed nuts afterwards.
Just like the day before I noticed I felt like drinking more water. I drank 3 liters until it was evening and didn’t drink more than half a glass of water. As for dinner, I ate quite a lot: 5 drumsticks, one third of a cucumber, 100 grams of brown rice and 10 mini-tomatoes. And although I was quite full after all that chicken, I was offered a desert. I had loads of fruit to choose from and so I decided to eat 7 strawberries, a nectarine and a minneola. I was full, but it wasn’t an annoying feeling. I simply wasn’t any bit hungry. I also weighed myself and noticed that even after this much food, I was still 700 grams lighter than my weigh-in before I started eating healthy.

What I consumed on day 3:
– 200 grams of brown rice
– 100 grams of pork
– 1 egg- ¼ broccoli
– 1 avocado (for guacamole)
– Some nuts; few enough to still be able to close your hand
– 1/3 cucumber
– 10 mini-tomatoes (Ministars)
– 5 drumsticks
– 7 strawberries
– 1 nectarine
– 1 minneola
– 3 liters of water

Day 4:
I had eaten way too much the day before and because of that I didn’t feel hungry in the morning. However, I did feel like eating something, so I ate a boiled egg, half a mango and a closed hand of nuts. This sure was enough to keep me full until the evening. I went cycling for 75 minutes and upon return I was slightly hungry. It was evening already and I decided to make the switch back to my normal diet. I consumed a sugary 117 kcal snack and noticed it was enough to make the hunger go away almost immediately. I ate dinner only half an hour later and I wasn’t pleased afterwards. I ate somewhere between 200 grams and 250 grams of tortellini pasta with very little sauce. I only ate an extra 50 grams than I felt like eating, because I didn’t want there to be too many leftovers. Usually that wouldn’t have been a problem, but this time around it turned out to be a huge mistake. It felt like I had somehow ingested a brick. It’s when I stood up when it became an undeniable horror. I felt heavy, slow and unmotivated. I felt like that for a couple of hours. Not only that, I also felt sleepier. So pasta, bread, potatoes and processed foods are junk; they certainly aren’t deserving to be labeled as food.
But since this was all a big experiment, I decided to eat a bag of crisps and some more sugary treats before bedtime. With enough junk in my body, I was sure I would find out the next morning exactly how bad I would normally feel compared to how I would if I ate healthy. All in the name of this experiment, though. I didn’t feel like eating sweets at all. And although I haven’t described in this blog how I felt in the morning on day 5, I can tell you that it will be the very same as I did on the morning of day 1. I can also tell you that I wasn’t hungry when I started eating my bag of crisps… but I was getting hungry having downed almost all of it. Another sign that “civilized human food” is actually filthy junk.
The Supermarket
As you’ve read earlier, I went to the supermarket on the 2nd day. I was now looking through the goggles of a healthy eater and I wasn’t pleased one bit. Yes, there was rice, there were nuts, there were a lot of vegetables and naturally there was plenty of fruit. There was also some fish, although limited and whereas the meat and chicken section seemed reasonably big, I wasn’t very pleased with it in the end. And most certainly, eggs were available too. So why complain?
Of course the majority of the available foods are unhealthy and that motivates people to eat unhealthy; especially since they’re used to an unhealthy Western diet. But the real problem is something else: where’s the healthy food that isn’t genetically manipulated? Put simply: where’s the truly healthy food? Where was the chicken and the meat that wasn’t treated with hormones? I wondered, but I had trouble finding labels saying ‘biological’, ‘ecological’ and ‘free-range’. This may not worry you at all, but it did worry me.
But let’s take a look at what I bought:

Following is an overview of the food I bought. It explains how long I’d typically do with it, what the cost of the product is and how much discount I got. I typically ate fruit twice a day. The same counts for vegetables and meat. I might switch between the type of fruit, vegetable and meat for breakfast and dinner. Depending on whether I’d make that switch, foods might last longer. This is shown in the table. Also, if you add the discount to the price I paid (cost), you will get the normal price (norm).

Food type and amount             How long you can do with it           Cost       Discount     Norm
-175 grams of mixed nuts        Enough to last a week                    €2,49     None           €2,49
-1 mango                                    1 or 2 days                                       €1,79      €0,50         €2,29
-1 broccoli                                  1 or 2 days                                       €0,88     €0,45          €1,33
-6 minneolas (oranges)            3 or 6 days                                      €2,36      €1,19          €3,55
-800 grams bio brown rice     4 days                                               €1,98     None            €1,98
-2 bio fairtrade avocados         1 or 2 days                                      €2,49      None           €2,49
-188 grams free-range pork   1 or 2 days                                      €2,72       None          €2,72

Note that biological foods, free-range foods, ecological foods and fairtrade products are basically luxury editions. You get the best of the best at a higher price. Mangos and avocados are exotic and therefore quite price. Consider them to be a luxury too. The same doesn’t necessarily count for nuts, since you can last pretty long with them. However, if you really want to cut down the costs, you can eliminate them from your diet (although not advised).
If you want to go cheap, you could go for regular brown rice at the rate of €1,90/kg. Buy cheap fruits and vegetables and always look if there’s discount on a certain fruit or vegetable. Also, while some exotic foods are really healthy and delicious, they are also often pricey. A perfect example of this is the avocado, which is normally sold for € 0,99 a piece if you opt non-biological.

What’s with the Western diet?
Science seems to change its mind about healthy food every now and then. But how come bread is always advised as healthy food? How come cheese is advised? Why should I drink milk every day? Are scientists paid to scam us? Are they paid to keep the Western food culture alive? I sure wouldn’t be surprised if this were true. Day 4 proved for me that Western food – with its overdose on carbs – makes one feel sleepier, tricks one into eating more and causes one to feel less motivated. It’s no wonder energy drinks and coffee sell so well in the West. They are not what we need; in fact, they drag us down even further. It seems almost as if the whole Western diet was invented to drain energy from our bodies; a diet which science actually promotes.
But science tells us a different story than our bodies do. This would imply either that humans evolve insanely fast or that science doesn’t tell us the right story. Without a doubt, the latter is the case. It seems a stereotypical Asian (organic and non-processed) diet is exactly what we need. How come science doesn’t tell us this? How come we aren’t told in school that you’ll feel better when you are on this “Asian” diet? I would love to see a change in the advised diet within 5 years from now, because if I can find proof within only 24 hours that the “Asian” diet makes you feel healther, then surely science should be more than capable of backing this up. I would love to see unhealthy foods banned from most supermarkets, making them available only at special stores (which would go bankrupt in no-time). However, I realize this is very unlikely to happen. Thus, I think it’s only fair to demand a governmental campaign promoting healthy food a.k.a the stereotypical Asian diet.
Final thoughts
If you have made it this far, I assume you are genuinely interested in the benefits of a healthy diet. I did a test-run on it and was very pleased. However, there are some things I want to make clear. First of all, you might not feel an improvement as quick as I did, although someone else informed me he had the same results in only 24 hours, just as I. Note that your first defecation after the first 24 hours might be a bit unpleasant and that it might stay slightly watery for weeks. I can’t say if the latter would’ve been the case with me, but it was with someone else who made the big change from an unhealthy to a healthy diet. Don’t be discouraged by this. Focus on how much better you feel. Also, make sure you don’t have any unhealthy foods in your home; you don’t want to fall back into bad habbits. And finally, it would be wise to advise a doctor or nutritionist before attempting a healthy diet, because you don’t want to face any nutritional deficiency. I personally don’t see any danger in a 3-day try-out, but then again, I’m not an expert on nutrition.

About didierrrr

An active mind who likes to philosophize, play the guitar, swim, cook, eat, write and more. My poor mathematics skills aside, I'm otherwise an all-round person.
This entry was posted in Blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

